top of page

To post or to Sell?

How many of us photographers to Togs as we are called, want to try and show of the images we capture?


I would guess not as many as you might think. I am sure with the introduction of the internet and all, many more have created their own web sites or used quick build locations.


That for me brings a few thoughts to mind. I myself have created this web site and joined a couple of others. I had to ask myself a few questions. What is my purpose for this? What do I want to gain from my images? Do I want to try and sell them?


The first ones was relatively easy to be honest. My purpose is to improve my photography through experiences, understand and learning. I have to acknowledge that by showing my photos, they will not please everyone. You can't, it's impossible.


What do I want gain from my images? Well, that again is simple. I want to improve yes but I want gain recognition for my work. I want to be published. Is that vain? No. I have published a book, admittedly it is very niche. But, I did it and it can be seen.


So the last question, do I want to try and sell them?


This is the difficult one. At my time of life, some would say I have not the hours to do so. I would argue that now I can. I have a passion for photography so why not let people see and if they wish purchase that captured moment. Will I make a fortune? I doubt it. I can produce books which my family and friends can have. I can make a calendar (I did that already).


So ask yourself the same. It might make that next photograph just a little more special.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page